One bad meal won’t make you fat, one healthy meal won’t make you thin.

One bad meal won’t make you fat, one healthy meal won’t make you thin. 

I recently got some great advice from one of my favorite bloggers. I asked her how she bounced back from a night of ‘overindulging’ – which seems to be my biggest issue lately. I keep it clean & healthy throughout the week and then as soon as the weekend rolls around, I let myself overindulge a touch too much- which is okay- but I let the rest of the weekend get derailed- which is NOT okay. I let a bad moment become a bad weekend, and then come Sunday night I am bloated, uncomfortably full and extremely unhappy.

This morning, I reached out to my favorite blogger (Ali Maffuci of Inspiralized- if you don’t follow her already you need too! She rocks) and asked her how she bounces back from a bad weekend. And she gave me some advice that really resonated with me.

unnamed

Our conversation went on a little more, but basically she just echoed everything that I always knew- but never listened to. Then i Saw this great comment (the title of today’s blog) : One bad meal won’t make you fat, one healthy meal won’t make you thin.  I can’t even begin to say how true this is. Being healthy & finding peace with yourself is not a one day fix- it’s a lifetime journey. So having a bad day doesn’t mean you have a bad life. Just like anything else, you can’t let yourself spiral.

You don’t have the power to change the past- none of us do- however you have the power to reverse the effects and avoid weight gain by eating healthy & working out the next day! Making good choices the next day, cancels out any “20%” that you may be unhappy with.

Words can’t express how freeing this makes me feel- just knowing that I hold the control-  I have the power to change how I feel- well, it’s exhilarating. For so long, I’ve let the mean voice in my head take all the control, because honestly, I didn’t know how to stand up to it. But now, I understand. I have the power. I can make the change. I can reverse any bad feelings. The power is in my hands- always- as long as I have enough confidence in myself to grasp it

 

 

Leave a Reply

