Daily noshes updates 1.14-1.18

Sorry for being so MIA this past weekend ! Between work, school and visiting family, I have been going non stop! Have definitely had a few ups and downs over  he last couple of days but I’m happy to report that I’m feeling good and much more balanced this week. I’ve really been trying to follow my philosophy of finding balance and listening to my body- and let me tell you- it works ! I’ve also been trying to chew less gum, which is such a challenge !! But I definitely notice a change in the way that I feel when I don’t chew it. 

Since it’s been a while since my last food post, I’m not sure I can remember back that far what I ate ha ha ! However I will give a little summary of each day instead. 

Saturday 1.14

I had class, so it’s normally pretty easy to monitor what I’m eating since I’m sitting in a classroom all day! So mindless snacking is definitely less prevelant. I had good meals until dinner time- I went out with my MBA friends and drank a fair amount, and when I came home was ravenous! So did what the old Kelly always did- search for anything and everything in the cabinet instead of finding something that was actually going to satisfy me. Additionally I definitely didn’t drink enough water or eat slow enough to let my food settle. This of course left me feeling quite sick for a little but once all the food hit me. At first I was really upset, but then I took a deep breath and remembered that each time this happens it is a learning experience- this way I know what not to do next time. Because if I’m not learning from my mistakes, then what is the point? 

Sunday 1.15

Of course we were going out to dinner with my grandparents at their favorite Italian restaurant- so my first thought was to panic because I knew I had over eaten the day before. However, I took a step back and thought about the bigger picture- about how this meal was about spending time with my grandparents and not about the calories I was consuming. As soon as I did this, I was able to breath and pull myself out of my “crazy”- I drank a ton of water, ate a good breakfast, and enjoyed the lunch meal I had with them- being careful to not (sickly) overindulge but listen to my body & knowing when it was actually full. 

Monday 1.16

Had today off! Was so nice to run around and do all my errands ! Got in a great gym sesh and bought some new workout clothes, so was feeling good. Had a bit of a makeshift lunch- since I didn’t have a lot of food in my apartment, but luckily didn’t let it throw off my day. After getting home late from shopping and all my errands I was exhausted and the last thing I wanted to do was make myself dinner- however I pushed through and made Inspiralized recipe for Sweet Potato Kale and white bean bake- insanely good ! Overall a great day. 

Tuesday 1.17

Back to work (ugh!) excited that I had a great lunch though- quinoa tuna chick peas with spiralizer cucumber (also from Inspiralized !) It was an amazing lunch! So satisfying. (Can’t wait to have it again today!) then finished off the day with a great 6 mile run. Felt so good- and really had that runners high 😊 

Wednesday 1.18 

I set my alarm to go to the gym this morning but really wasn’t feeling it…  i was tired (and it was raining!) so I listened to my body and decided to take today as a rest day. And I’m really glad o did. 

8:45AM

Quinoa with 1/2 banana, walnuts and drizzled honey. 

11:45 AM

Half of a Kombucha and handful of raw cashews. I was going to run an errand at lunch so would miss my normal lunch time and didn’t want to be famished ! 

1:15PM

Finally got to eat my lunch! Quinoa with tuna chickpeas and spiralized cucumbers.  Second half of my kombucha 

3:00PM

Large pear

5:00PM

Carrot sticks

8PM

Sweet potato kale and white bean bake 

Leave a Reply

