snowy thoughts

It was a beautiful snowy day in NYC– well ok it was kinda a low key blizzard. Most people complained about the weather, but I LOVE the snow. There is something about the quiet simplicity of it- unassuming, simple , pure, white. It doesn’t ask for much. It’s just there. Quietly & majestically.

Anyways I’m proud of myself because I’m trying really hard to make smart, healthy choices that leave me feeling GOOD and HEALTHY. So i knew, after a long run yesterday night, I was goign to be extra hungry all day. And I knew sitting in my apartment all day would only lead to an inevitable spiral of binging, so I bundled up and went into work. Actually had a nice productive day. Maybe snacked a touch more than I should have (my boss asked me to get a snack with her so I didn’t want to miss out on an opportunity to bond so I chose people over food– which is always the choice I need to make and am proud to say I’ve been getting better at.) Anyways, went to the gym with my sister and had a good workout- didn’t want to push myself too hard because I want to do a long run tomorrow. So just listened to my body and did the best that I could. Which, at the end of the day, is all you really can do, right?

As i mentioned in my last post, I’ve been having  a little trouble with the “after dinner snackies” (#whenlatenightsnacksattack) however–i got some good advice recently rhat reminded me, that those “after dinner snack attacks’ are really all a mindset. Sometimes, yes you are just really hungry. But honestly most of the time it’s just your brain telling you you want to eat- even if you dont want to. So whats the best way to tackle this? To fight back & play the same game. If your brain wants to play tricks on you, you can play tricks on it. So for example, lately I’ve been trying to drink peppermint tea after dinner, because it helps to trick my brain into forgetting I want to eat 24575730495804935 muffins. ANd you know what, sometimes it doesnt work- and that’s ok. The best thing I need to remeber, is that I’M TRYING – and that a whole hell of a lot better than just giving up or giving in.

So as i always say, I’m going to keep moving forward, one day at a time, because forward is forward, no matter the speed.

Leave a Reply

